howdoienglish











{June 15, 2011}  

I needed a WordPress account in order to be added as a user to the blog I set up for the press I work at. So I decided, why not, I’ll create my own blog. Maybe I’ll even use it, too. I’ve never kept up with a blog for very long, unless it was a journal-type blog where I ranted about feelings and opinions for pages.

An English blog felt new, different, something that would be unique and thus worth continuing. I’ve looked through numerous book blogs over the course of my employment with this small press, and they all look about the same, reviewing books sent them by publishers (me included) and talking of bookish things.

I don’t know much about the publishing industry, the industry I would absolutely love to spend the rest of my life slumming around in. It worries me sometimes, worries me because what if I am completely unprepared to float in a large publishing company? What if I don’t know what I need to know?

This blog is my way of chronicling new English oddities I learn. Maybe other people are as clueless as I am about some of these particularities. I’d like this blog to become a public forum of sorts, a place for people to discuss the English language. I want to research into the English language, find out why English is as strange as it is and let people know. I majored in English, so if I don’t know, it’s likely others don’t as well. I work with a publishing company, and escapades with that will be related through the blog as well.

In general, this will be an English space, a place for anything relating to the language of English or the industry of publishing.

I’m excited. Let’s go.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
