howdoienglish











{June 23, 2011}   A startling realization

Today, dear reader (and by reader I mean me because I’m the only one reading this right now), I discovered something that, quite frankly, saddens me and I’m not quite sure what to do about it.

I discovered that…I can’t go to the library for at least a week. I’m almost done with the final book in Jim Butcher’s Codex Alera series, listening to it, actually, because I can actually get through a book that way. Driving to and from work, to and from the boyfriend who lives an hour away, it makes more sense to listen to a book instead of reading it. That and with all the advance assignments for the Publishing Institute, if I’m reading, it’s one of the manuscripts for that.

Back on track: once I’m done with my current listening book, I need another. Or would like another, rather. The unfortunate thing about this situation is that I’m moving in a week. I can’t check out a book from the library where I’m moving to because, well, I’m not there yet. I can’t check out one from one of the libraries where I am now because (unbelievably) I don’t have a library card for this district (I blame the fact that I had my university library for the last four years) and I don’t think I can check out books from the university library anymore since I graduated.

All of this means that I won’t have a book to listen to for a week before I move. I don’t know what to do.

Options include getting a library card for this district for a week (which I’m considering), trying to check out a book from the university library, buying a book from audible.com, and just living without a book for a week. I’m not sure what I’ll do, but I’ll have to figure something out tomorrow since I’m sure I’ll finish the book either today or tomorrow.

My S.O. could have written parts of this. He survives his long commutes by listening to Star Wars audio books. Once or twice he’s reached the end of a book unexpectedly and been without another to substitute. In these cases, he’s broken down and bought the book himself. I was actually thinking of giving audio books a try after listening to Samuel L. Jackson’s reading of Go the F**k to Sleep. If I could stop comparing audio books to printed books and enjoy them for what they are, I’d get through so many more stories a year!

Unrelatedly, I love your blog’s layout. Green+gorgeous=win.



I snuck in on the audible.com deal where they were giving away Go the F**k to Sleep for free, and I’m quite glad I did! Audio books are rather different from printed, and I much prefer to hold a book in my hands, but they’re good for the moments when you have no hands. It’s nice to find ones that have good narrators, otherwise it’s a saddening experience.

And thank you 🙂 I bookmarked this layout when I was paging through themes for my company’s blog because I knew I had to have it.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
