howdoienglish











{July 13, 2011}   Passion

If I could select a one-word summary of the advice that’s been given to the ninety-odd young people in the Publishing Institute’s room at DU over the last two days, it would be that: Passion. Every person in the world of publishing must have a great deal of passion for the work they do, or it’s just not going to work out well. Editors need passion to navigate the manuscripts they acquire through the publishing process; agents need passion to guide their chosen manuscripts to the right house and editor; book packagers…well, they’re another story.

Almost my every waking moment for the last week, especially, has been taken up with something Institute-related. Now that I’m actually there every day…almost my every waking moment is taken up with something Institute-related. This program is a full-time job of listening to lecturers and attending workshops with some of the most brilliant minds in the publishing industry today. And guess what? It’s totally worth it.

Since I have a couple people wanting to know about what goes on with me and the Publishing Institute, I’ll be posting when I can about the goings-on there and, more importantly, how it’s affecting me and how things are going for me in general. I hope to be able to post every couple of days. I got my first homework assignment today and when I get home I just want to collapse on the sofa, so once every few days is the best that can be hoped for, I think.

A quick overview of the last couple days:

Sunday–orientation day. Not my best day. Right before orientation I went to a bridal shower. The only person I knew in either of those places was the bride at the shower, so I wasn’t particularly looking forward to sitting myself in a room of ninety-seven other people after I sat myself in a room with twenty people I didn’t know. Any attempts at conversation both places were stilted and short-lived. I came home frightened for the next four weeks.

Monday–first day of classes. I had the good fortune of arriving at campus at the same time as another commuter (I couldn’t muster up the extra couple thousand to live in the dorms like most of my colleagues). We muddled our way to the building breakfast would be in, making conversation as best we could. (It’s always difficult when you first meet someone to come up with something intelligent and interesting to say, so I think we managed quite well.) I was lucky enough to have her company for the rest of the day as we attempted to get money from ATMs and wrangle parking passes. Sitting in a room of ninety-eight is easier when at least one of them is on somewhat friendly terms with you.

I made the mistake of going home between the last class and our first field trip (to the LoDo Tattered Cover with an author talk, David Wroblewski of The Story of Edgar Sawtelle fame [I haven’t read the book either, though it’s on my list now]), so I arrived late, shuffling into the room while the author read an excerpt. Rarely have I ever been so embarrassed. I also had the fortune of being seated next to the lovely Joyce Meskis (I do mean that, truly), the director of the Institute, after I came in late. She had emphasized timeliness during orientation. You can understand my position. The talk was enjoyable, though, and I loved wandering through the store afterward. I am proud to say I resisted buying anything; I have too much on my bookshelves to read as it is.

Tuesday (today)–second day of class. Sandra Bond, I’m in awe of her now, delivered the lecture on the role of the literary agent. She made me want to be an agent, which I think is a good quality in a presenter. If I want to be everything when the Institute is over, I’ll be in a good position to find a job. Book packaging, though, is a field I don’t think I’ll ever want to go into. I met up with my fellow commuter to go to lunch, and we stumbled on a new acquaintance in the food line and spent our lunch hour talking of science fiction books, working for Tor, NaNoWriMo, old roommates. I had quite the time, delighted to find fellow introverts with similar interests. I can only hope they felt the same way.

Economics proved to be the bane of most of the students. Though equipped with calculators, many of us could only fumble our way through the economic feasibility worksheet for the hypothetical book we were hypothetically publishing. Our presenter, the eminent Robert Follett, couldn’t have been more interesting, though. I thoroughly enjoyed listening to him speak: he was inspiring and humorous, acknowledging of his shortcomings and humble in his successes. I managed to finish the worksheet at home where the hum of “I’m so confused” wasn’t there to distract me.

In sum, what I thought might be a torturous four weeks early on has turned into what it should have been all along, an exciting adventure. I feel at a disadvantage not living in the dorms; there you are almost guaranteed three new friends in your suitemates the day you arrive. But with a little luck, I think I’ll be OK. I’ve never been the one comfortable with a large group of people around me, so if I only know two people through the four weeks, I’ll be happy.

That’s all I have for now. The first part of the editing workshop is tomorrow, along with scholarly publishing. (For that, we read a couple book proposals. One of which I hope is actually a forthcoming book because I will read it. I’m getting so many ideas for books to add to my list…it’s fantastic and terrible, all at the same time.)

I don’t know if everyone can comment on this who might want to. If you can’t but want to, feel free to e-mail (goss.bonniem@gmail.com) or Facebook, whatever works. Thanks for reading.

Cody "Awesomesauce" Swatek says:

BON BON! I’m in ur blogz readin yer posts!

I wanna work at TOR! That would be awesome!

Lemme know how the institute goes!

Also, this comment needs more exclamation points!!!!!!!

!
!
!!!!



Thanks for posting! I’ll be reading everything you write about the Institute and am eager to hear where you think your passion lies. By the way, I loved Edgar Sawtelle.



I’m excited to read it; I’m always happy to discover new literary fiction out there.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
